All forces subject access email addresses

Subject access, under the GDPR and the Data Protection Act (DPA) 2018, provides individuals with the right to access personal data held about them by organisations. This right enables individuals to obtain confirmation that their data is being processed, access the data itself, and receive supplementary information about how and why their data is being used. Organisations are required to provide this information within one month of the request.

Requestors are often directed to police force websites, where they are instructed to fill in laborious forms that harvest detailed personal information the police are not entitled to receive. For a subject access request to be lawful, it need only be specified as a subject access request and can be made orally or in writing. To ensure the police follow the proper legal procedures and collect the minimum amount of personal data from you, it is recommended to make your subject access request (SAR) via email, sent directly to the information department of your local force.

Requestors must then prove their identity, upon request, before the SAR must be processed.

Below are all of the official SAR email addresses for all the police forces of England and Wales.
If you find any of the information here to be incorrect, or if an email should bounce back, please contact us so we can amend it.

Police Force SAR Email Address
Avon and Somerset Constabulary SubjectAccessRequest@avonandsomerset.police.uk
Bedfordshire Police DataProtection@beds.police.uk
British Transport Police DataProtection@btp.police.uk
Cambridgeshire Constabulary DataProtection@beds.police.uk
Cheshire Constabulary requests@cheshire.police.uk
City of London Police foi@cityoflondon.police.uk
Cleveland Police information.rights.requests@Cleveland.police.uk
Cumbria Constabulary subjectaccess@cumbria.police.uk
Derbyshire Constabulary FOI@Derbyshire.Police.uk
Devon and Cornwall Police dataprotectionalliance@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Dorset Police dataprotectionalliance@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Durham Constabulary DataProtection@durham.poilce.uk
Dyfed-Powys Police dataprotection@dyfed-powys.police.uk
Essex Police info.rights.of.access@essex.police.uk
Gloucestershire Constabulary informationdisclosureunit@gloucestershire.police.uk
Greater Manchester Police SubjectAccess@gmp.police.uk
Gwent Police dataprotection@gwent.police.uk
Hampshire Constabulary public.access@hampshire.police.uk
Hertfordshire Constabulary DataProtection@beds.police.uk
Humberside Police InformationgovernanceUnit@Humberside.police.uk
Kent Police data.subject.access@kent.pnn.police.uk
Lancashire Constabulary data.protection@lancashire.pnn.police.uk
Leicestershire Police data.protection@leics.police.uk
Lincolnshire Police dataprotection@lincs.police.uk
Merseyside Police dataprotection@merseyside.pnn.police.uk
Metropolitan Police Service DataRights@met.police.uk
Norfolk Constabulary data.protection@norfolk.police.uk
Northamptonshire Police dataprotection@northants.pnn.police.uk
Northumbria Police data.protection@northumbria.police.uk
North Wales Police dataprotectionenqs@nthwales.police.uk
North Yorkshire Police CivilDisclosure@northyorkshire.police.uk
Nottinghamshire Police data.protection@notts.police.uk
South Wales Police data.Protection@south-wales.police.uk
South Yorkshire Police subjectaccess@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
Staffordshire Police rightofaccess@staffordshire.police.uk
Suffolk Constabulary data.protection@suffolk.police.uk
Surrey Police SubjectAccess@surrey.police.uk
Sussex Police subject.access1@sussex.police.uk
Thames Valley Police publicaccess@thamesvalley.police.uk
Warwickshire Police subjectaccess@warwickshire.police.uk
West Mercia Police information@westmercia.police.uk
West Midlands Police dataprotection@westmidlands.police.uk
West Yorkshire Police rightofaccess@westyorkshire.police.uk
Wiltshire Police disclosure@wiltshire.police.uk

LATEST ARTICLES