All forces subject access email addresses

Subject access, under the GDPR and the Data Protection Act (DPA) 2018, provides individuals with the right to access personal data held about them by organisations. This right enables individuals to obtain confirmation that their data is being processed, access the data itself, and receive supplementary information about how and why their data is being used. Organisations are required to provide this information within one month of the request.

Requestors are often directed to police force websites, where they are instructed to fill in laborious forms that harvest detailed personal information the police are not entitled to receive. For a subject access request to be lawful, it need only be specified as a subject access request and can be made orally or in writing. To ensure the police follow the proper legal procedures and collect the minimum amount of personal data from you, it is recommended to make your subject access request (SAR) via email, sent directly to the information department of your local force.

Requestors must then prove their identity, upon request, before the SAR must be processed.

Below are all of the official SAR email addresses for all the police forces of England and Wales.
If you find any of the information here to be incorrect, or if an email should bounce back, please contact us so we can amend it.

Police Force SAR Email Address
Avon and Somerset Constabulary
Bedfordshire Police
British Transport Police
Cambridgeshire Constabulary
Cheshire Constabulary
City of London Police
Cleveland Police
Cumbria Constabulary
Derbyshire Constabulary
Devon and Cornwall Police
Dorset Police
Durham Constabulary
Dyfed-Powys Police
Essex Police
Gloucestershire Constabulary
Greater Manchester Police
Gwent Police
Hampshire Constabulary
Hertfordshire Constabulary
Humberside Police
Kent Police
Lancashire Constabulary
Leicestershire Police
Lincolnshire Police
Merseyside Police
Metropolitan Police Service
Norfolk Constabulary
Northamptonshire Police
Northumbria Police
North Wales Police
North Yorkshire Police
Nottinghamshire Police
South Wales Police
South Yorkshire Police
Staffordshire Police
Suffolk Constabulary
Surrey Police
Sussex Police
Thames Valley Police
Warwickshire Police
West Mercia Police
West Midlands Police
West Yorkshire Police
Wiltshire Police