All forces Legal Department email addresses

If you intend to sue the police as a Litigant in Person (where you represent yourself), you must ensure that you send your Letter of Claim and any follow-up legal papers to the correct department. Select your relevant force from the list below.

Do not use these email addresses to make complaints. A list of complaint email addresses can be found here.

Please note, the list is currently incomplete due to a number of police forces wilfully refusing to comply with FOI law. These matters have been taken up with the ICO. Once we obtain the remaining email addresses, they will be added to the list.

Police Force Legal Department
Avon and Somerset Constabulary Refused to provide
Bedfordshire Police customersupport@beds.police.uk
British Transport Police legalservices@btp.police.uk
Cambridgeshire Constabulary legaladvice@cambs.police.uk
Cheshire Constabulary legal.Services@cheshire.police.uk
City of London Police ccs.contact@cityoflondon.gov.uk
Cleveland Police legal.Services@cleveland.police.uk
Cumbria Constabulary HQLegalServices@cumbria.police.uk
Derbyshire Constabulary legal@Derbyshire.Police.uk
Devon and Cornwall Police legalservices@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Dorset Police legalservices@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
Durham Constabulary legal@durham.police.uk
Dyfed-Powys Police LegalServices@dyfed-powys.police.uk
Essex Police essex.legal.services@essex.police.uk
Gloucestershire Constabulary legal.services@gloucestershire.police.uk
Greater Manchester Police CivilLitigation.Unit@gmp.police.uk
Gwent Police jointlegalservices@south-wales.police.uk
Hampshire Constabulary civil.litigation@hampshire.police.uk
Hertfordshire Constabulary legalservices@herts.police.uk
Humberside Police legalenquiries@southyorkshire.police.uk
Kent Police Refused to provide
Lancashire Constabulary Refused to provide
Leicestershire Police legal@derbyshire.police.uk
Lincolnshire Police legal@derbyshire.police.uk
Merseyside Police civil.Litigation@merseyside.police.uk
Metropolitan Police Service DLSMailbox-Allocations@met.police.uk
Norfolk Constabulary legalservices@norfolk.police.uk
Northamptonshire Police legal@derbyshire.police.uk
Northumbria Police civil.claims@northumbria.police.uk
North Wales Police karen.kinsey@nthwales.pnn.police.uk
North Yorkshire Police legal.ServicesCentral@northyorkshire.police.uk
Nottinghamshire Police legal@Derbyshire.Police.UK
South Wales Police jointlegalservices@south-wales.police.uk
South Yorkshire Police LegalEnquiries@southyorks.pnn.police.uk
Staffordshire Police LS_joint_services@westmidlands.police.uk
Suffolk Constabulary insurancesection@suffolk.police.uk
Surrey Police Refused to provide
Sussex Police civilclaims@sussex.police.uk
Thames Valley Police legal.enquiries@thamesvalley.police.uk
Warwickshire Police legal@warwickshire.police.uk
West Mercia Police legal.hq@westmercia.police.uk
West Midlands Police ls_joint_services@westmidlands.police.uk
West Yorkshire Police legal.services@westyorkshire.police.uk
Wiltshire Police legalservices@wiltshire.police.uk

LATEST ARTICLES