All forces Legal Department email addresses

If you intend to sue the police as a Litigant in Person (where you represent yourself), you must ensure that you send your Letter of Claim and any follow-up legal papers to the correct department. Select your relevant force from the list below.

Do not use these email addresses to make complaints. A list of complaint email addresses can be found here.

Please note, the list is currently incomplete due to a number of police forces wilfully refusing to comply with FOI law. These matters have been taken up with the ICO. Once we obtain the remaining email addresses, they will be added to the list.

Police Force Legal Department
Avon and Somerset Constabulary Refused to provide
Bedfordshire Police
British Transport Police
Cambridgeshire Constabulary
Cheshire Constabulary
City of London Police
Cleveland Police
Cumbria Constabulary
Derbyshire Constabulary
Devon and Cornwall Police
Dorset Police
Durham Constabulary
Dyfed-Powys Police
Essex Police
Gloucestershire Constabulary
Greater Manchester Police
Gwent Police
Hampshire Constabulary
Hertfordshire Constabulary
Humberside Police
Kent Police Refused to provide
Lancashire Constabulary Refused to provide
Leicestershire Police
Lincolnshire Police
Merseyside Police
Metropolitan Police Service
Norfolk Constabulary
Northamptonshire Police
Northumbria Police
North Wales Police
North Yorkshire Police
Nottinghamshire Police legal@Derbyshire.Police.UK
South Wales Police
South Yorkshire Police
Staffordshire Police
Suffolk Constabulary
Surrey Police Refused to provide
Sussex Police
Thames Valley Police
Warwickshire Police
West Mercia Police
West Midlands Police
West Yorkshire Police
Wiltshire Police